Spa Review: Despacio at H10 Andalucia Plaza Hotel, Puerto Banus

If you head over to my instagram you’ll see lots of my Marbella pictures, where I happened to be for the legendary SJP’s hen do. We were staying in the large 4 star H10 Andalucia Plaza Hotel, which is located about 10 minutes walk away from the marina and nightlife in Puerto Banus. The hotel was handpicked by her bridesmaid and I was absolutely delighted when I found out there was a spa attached! Unfortunately the weather wasn’t on our side for pretty much the whole of the trip, but in this case, every cloud definitely does have a silver lining, as the rain meant I visited Despacio spa on several occasions.

To access the spa it cost 15 euro for a two hour thermal session, however, there were lots of treatment packages available that included use of the thermal suite and offered savings. On my final visit, I paid 39 euro for a 30 minute Thalgo mini facial and use of the facilities.

As I entered Despacio, the reception area was softly lit and had rich, neutral decor with really exotic, elegant features and accessories – think marble, orchids, sunbeam mirrors and hanging lanterns. This theme flowed throughout the entire spa, creating a calm and tranquil space.

The receptionist explained the spa rules including the requirement to wear a swimming cap when in the pool and then showed me around the facilities. To reach the thermal suite you walked down a corridor, past the changing areas. The suite included a hammam, a sauna and a small pool that was cool in temperature. At one end of the pool there was jets, cascades and a swan neck fountain, this enabled you to have a hydrotherapy style experience. The pool slowly changed colour from blues to greens and whilst reclining on the large, comfortable beds facing the pool, it felt very therapeutic.

In the midst of my trance like state, my therapist collected me and took me for my treatment. The treatment rooms were located at the other side of reception and there was also another room with a private Jacuzzi which could be used at an extra cost.

Copyright uses for H10 Hotels for sales and Marketing promotions

Although the treatment room was a good temperature, my therapist noticed I had wet swimwear on, so offered me disposable underwear to avoid me getting cold – this was highly appreciated as I hate being uncomfortable during a treatment! The products for the facial were pre-chosen and I wasn’t offered a consultation, so if wanting to target specific skin concerns I wouldn’t recommend this facial. However the treatment was incredibly relaxing and included a neck and shoulder massage whilst my face mask was on. I would definitely like to try more Thalgo products as my skin was left feeling really soft and stayed hydrated for the flight home that afternoon.

After hours of being pampered, you might ask what else could a girl want? Well, my only wish, was that the sun had been shining after my treatment. If it had been, I would have continued with my resting in the exclusive, outside area for spa guests.

Hotel H10 Andalucía Plaza.

What had the ‘Spa Factor’ –  the decor, it made me feel like I was hidden away in a far away land. I was also mesmerized by the pool lighting and was very grateful for my therapist’s considerate nature.

What would add to the ‘spa factor’ – The spa was spotlessly clean but I really wasn’t feeling the swimming cap. If the pool had been warmer I would have made better use of the hydrotherapy features.

Stay BeYOUtiful

Eleri

8 thoughts on “Spa Review: Despacio at H10 Andalucia Plaza Hotel, Puerto Banus

    • spameaway says:

      Yeah we were all really impressed with the hotel & it’s location – the spa was definitely a welcome addition 😉 a Puerto Banus was definitely a great destination for the hen party!

      Eleri

      Like

    • spameaway says:

      As you probably read I really liked the decor too. We were all really pleased with the hotel as well. That’s great – you probably know all the tricks of the trade for funding good hotels with your past travel experience.

      Eleri

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment