Break the Wellness Debt Cycle

In the April 2016 issue of Cosmopolitan I read the article “Are You Caught in the Wellness Debt Cycle?”  The article explained that being healthy is becoming increasingly fashionable. This is resulting in women and men trying to keep up with wellbeing trends, in detriment to their finances and other areas of their life – hence the term the Wellness Debt Cycle.

It is clear within the piece that one of the reasons people are being caught in the cycle is to feel accepted and like they belong to a community.  These feelings are influenced by social media where a “like” equals approval. Although I think that social media is a great platform for networking and a good source for inspiration and motivation; it also plays a role in us making irrational and unhelpful comparisons to others.

Whether we want to or not, we live in a world where we are always going to be situations that make comparing each other easy. In my positive thinking post, I talk about how negative thoughts are natural and explain that they can be helpful providing you respond constructively to them.  For example, if you are being critical of yourself when looking at a fitness blogger, ask yourself, is it because your health is important to you.

In the article TV psychologist Emma Kenny says it important to ‘take positive inspiration from those around you, but ultimately your fitness journey is your own and it has to exist within your boundaries’.

My interpretation of this is about us setting ourselves achievable, affordable and maintainable wellbeing goals.  I myself can find this hard, especially with good promoters and me being a sucker for ‘superfoods’. To avoid blowing my monthly food budget in one week on chia seeds and quinoa, I find it helpful to take a step back, weigh up the situation and consider just as good alternatives that suit my lifestyle. The reason I want to eat ‘superfoods’ is for their health benefits but it is worth remembering that a ‘superfood’ is just a label, given by clever advertisers. The daily mail has a great article suggesting other foods that are similar to new ‘superfoods’. For example, brown rice or lentils have similar nutrients to quinoa and are just as healthy but lots cheaper.

quinoa

It was pleasing to see that cosmopolitan had suggested more purse friendly alternatives for wellness items such as meals, juices and active wear. However, I was more than a little surprised when a few pages later their fashion feature for sportswear advertised luxury brands such as Sweaty Betty.  I think cosmopolitan missed a trick here and could have done a great job of covering what affordably stylish and technical fitness clothing there is currently available on the high street.  Such as these floral print leggings from Florence and Fred’s active wear range; they are bang on trend and an absolute steal at £16!

leggings

Power flower fitness at a fraction of the cost

 

I think a feature such as this would have really reinforced the message cosmopolitan wanted to share to help people break free from the wellness debt cycle.

I’d love to hear how you keep well for your budget.

Stay BeYOUtiful,

Eleri

7 thoughts on “Break the Wellness Debt Cycle

  1. abbeylouisarose says:

    I really like the concept of this post – critiquing a magazine article and suggesting improvements, it’s great! 💗 I think you’re absolutely right about the contradiction of printing an article about the effect of the wellness revolution on people’s wallets and then a Sweaty Betty ad! That workout gear that you’re modelling in your pic looks awesome – and a fraction of the price of Sweaty Betty stuff too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • spameaway says:

      Thanks for commenting Abbey. Everyone has their own budget but it would have been good to see a mixture of prices at the very least. It’s Davina for Tesco – they seem to have the best quality active wear and value for money.

      Like

    • spameaway says:

      Hi Joey. Thanks for commenting, I’m glad you like it 😊 I am a cosmopolitan fan but I just feel the messages they sent were completely mixed. Of course everyone has different budgets – big or small but that should be reflected evenly. Eleri x

      Like

  2. Jess says:

    Oh ma gosh this is so accurate- have you seeen the price of Kale these days? I’m glad it’s not just a Waitrose thing. I love Cosmo but sometimes they slip up (they always do these ‘what do MEN want?’ surveys and my inner feminist dies a little) although that’s great for us bloggers to review, right? Love this post!
    http://halfgirlhalfteacup.com

    Like

    • spameaway says:

      Nope I think it’s a supermarket thing in general! I’m glad you liked the post – I completely agree it can post completing empowering pieces and then contradicts itself – but I absolutely love the positive spin you’ve put on that!

      Eleri

      Like

Leave a Reply

