Spa Review: The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

The Macdonald Craxton Wood Spa is one of my favourite spas and I have visited on a couple of occasions. The Craxton Wood Spa is attached to a 4 star hotel and is based in Ledsham, Cheshire. As the hotel is surrounded by Woodland it has a really remote feel although it is close by to the main road making it very easy to access.

On arrival to the Craxton Wood Spa, I have always received a friendly and helpful welcome from the spa staff team and had great hospitality throughout the day.  There is a lovely fresh vibe to the reception/dining area, which has full-length windows overlooking the pool and into the garden.

NEW indoor pool (1)

The ‘spa factor’ really hits you when your therapist shows you to the spa area. The spa boasts an extensive, modern and decadent thermal suite, rasul mud therapy room, two relaxation areas, experience showers, sauna, steam room, and luxury treatment rooms. The spa offers leisure memberships but only those receiving a treatment can access the thermal suite and relaxation areas, ensuring the spa surroundings remain as tranquil as possible.

My spa trips are normally a girls outing and we love an opportunity to catch up and gossip. Now gossiping, usually involves a long Jacuzzi session (massive apologies to all the people we’ve hot tub blocked over the years!). For some reason, the Craxton Wood Spa hasn’t got a Jacuzzi in their thermal suite, but nevertheless, my girls and I found other means of conducting gossip in the peaceful garden room.

macdonald garden

The garden room was the perfect setting with loungers, cosy blankets and comfy cushions aplenty. The garden room has floor to ceiling doors and overlooks a pristine garden. There is lots of research to suggest being in a natural setting promotes our wellbeing. For me this really rung true, as being able to snuggle up, whilst looking out, really allowed me to relax and feel content.

garden

An extra special touch the spa has is the complimentary herbal tea, natural flavoured iced water and fresh fruit they have readily available. This small gesture really makes you feel valued as a customer and adds that luxury feel.

During both my spa days I dined in the spa cafe. The spa layout is well thought out and there are no awkward walks in your robe past non-spa guests when accessing different areas of the spa. Personally, I don’t think there is anything worse than feeling totally out of place when eating on a spa day – so I am pleased to say this was definitely not the case.

Of course, you’re probably wondering about the most important part of lunch – the FOOD! On one occasion we had the afternoon tea with bubbles, and the other, I had a light two course lunch. Now, I am known as a Prosecco Queen and I’m partial to a cream cake or two (sometimes three…) However, I can honestly say that the satay chicken skewers followed by the salmon salad were equally as delicious as the Afternoon tea if you are looking for a lighter option.

macdonald afternoon

So after spending the day as a lady of leisure and feasting like a king, what’s a girl to do? Get a treatment of course! The spa offers a wide range of treatments from facials to pedicures and everything in between. I opted for a back massage on both occasions and have always left with a sense of calm.  A 30 minute back massage costs from £45, however, I have always found special offers / day packages online that provide an extremely good value day of pampering.

What had the  ‘Spa Factor’ –  pretty much everything, the relaxation and garden room, the luxurious thermal suite, the food, the layout, staff hospitality and my new found love for cucumber water- hello hydration!

What would add to the ‘spa factor’ – A Jacuzzi

So have I tempted you to try the Macdonald Craxton Wood Spa?

Stay BeYOUtiful

Eleri

 

 

10 thoughts on “Spa Review: The Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

    • spameaway says:

      It is definitely one of my favourite spa’s and worth a visit. I obviously agree with a name like spa me away, I’m not sure what there’s not to like about a spa day.

      Eleri

      Like

    • spameaway says:

      That sounds like a great idea incorporating a spa into your weekend away. There is nothing nicer then relaxing after a day of exploring. I would definitely recommend the craxton wood spa if you were in the area 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

